You are here

Hall of Fame Banquet 2017

Linn County Democrats Hall of Fame Banquet 2017

The Linn County Democrats are pleased to announce the nomination and election of Helane Golden, Harvey Ross, and Iowa Senator Wally Horn & his wife Phyllis Peterson to the Linn County Democratic Party Hall of Fame. These individuals will be recognized at the Linn County Democrats Bi-Annual Hall of Fame Banquet on the evening of October 21, 2017 at the Longbranch Hotel and Convention Center.

Jason KanderSpecial guest speaker for the event will be Jason Kander, founder of Let America Vote, an organization dedicated to ending voter suppression and gerrymandering. Jason is a member of the Democratic Party who was elected Secretary of State of Missouri in 2012, serving from 2013 to 2017. He previously served as a Missouri state representative. Kander was an intelligence officer in the Army National Guard, achieving the rank of Captain. He was the Democratic nominee for the United States Senate in Missouri, narrowly losing the 2016 Senate election to the Republican incumbent.

Ticket information:
Individual - $50
Table Sponsor - $500
Pre-event Reception - $50

Pre-event reception begins at 5:00 pm. Banquet begins at 6:30 pm.

Tickets may be purchased by mail to Financial Secretary, 2647 29th Ave, Marion IA 52302, or online here.

Program advertising is available. Click here for more information.

In addition, a silent auction with a variety of items will be held at the banquet. 

Inductee Bios

Helane Golden is a longtime volunteer and a Democratic Party activist who has participated and worked for various candidates, campaigns and causes in Linn County for many years. A retired teacher, Helane has been a grassroots contributor and supporter of the party while also contributing to the community in various volunteer capacities. Helane painted homes after the flood, organized clothing drives and food drives for local pantries. She also worked on donation projects for veterans, toys for Four Oaks annual Christmas drive and Special Olympics "high-five" line. Helane also recently worked to organize a blood drive with the Hawkeye Area Labor Council and the Linn County Democrats.

Harvey Ross is another longtime Democratic Party activist and current chair of the Linn County Stonewall Democrats and prior member of the State Central Committee as chair of the State Stonewall Democrats. Harvey has been involved in many campaigns and causes, and considered an expert on rules and procedures. A member of the Linn County Democratic Central Committee for years, Harvey has been a key contributor to congressional district central committees as well. Harvey ran for IA Senate in 2000, and is always considered a key resource for many campaigns.

Wally Hornis in his 10th and final term representing Senate District 35. He is the longest-serving member of the Iowa Legislature. Wally joined the Iowa Senate after serving five terms in the Iowa House. Outside of his political career, Horn worked for more than 30 years as a high school teacher, coach, and information facilitator for schools in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A native of Bloomfield, Wally graduated from Bloomfield High School, served in the U.S. Army and earned his Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees from Truman State University in Missouri. He has done additional graduate studies at the University of Iowa and Texas A&M. Wally is active in the Cedar Rapids community, where he serves on the boards for several professional and civic organizations, including the Community Correction Board and the Elks and Moose Lodges. He also belongs to the American Legion and Veterans of Foreign Wars.

Phyllis Peterson, married to Wally Horn, is an important partner in representing NW and SW Cedar Rapids and Linn County. Phyllis graduated from ISU and earned a PhD in Education Administration from the University of Iowa. In addition she worked for Cedar Rapids Community Schools, Grant Wood AEA and Kirkwood Community College directing a federal program, Star Schools. Both Wally & Phyllis have been engaged in the party for over 40 years directly contributing to its success and to the state of Iowa.



All Content Copyright 2014 by the LCDCC,
the Linn County Democratic Party and/or Each Individual Author - All Rights Reserved
Paid for by the Linn County Democratic Central Committee
Not authorized by any candidate or candidate's committee